
NAGC C grade quarter final 

On Sunday October 21st there was an unfortunate occurrence, where incorrect golf rule 

interpretation and incorrect ruling procedure caused a member to resign from the match after the 

11th hole.  

The details are as follows; 

The quarter final match between Raja Jamaleddine and Brenton St Clair had reached the 11th green 

with Brenton three up in the match.  Alongside the green, Raja noticed that Brenton had 16 clubs in 

his bag, two more than the permitted number of clubs. Immediately Brenton admitted that he had 

too many clubs and that he had inadvertently forgot to remove the extra clubs from his bag prior to 

the match starting.  The playing group looked up the rule on a mobile phone and mis-interpreted the 

rule thinking it was an automatic disqualification, at which point Brenton resigned from the match. 

The actual rule, (4.4) states that the maximum penalty in matchplay is a two hole penalty, after 

which point the extra club(s) should be nominated and not used again during the round.  If the 

nominated clubs are used again, then the penalty is disqualification.   

In this event, a member of the match committee should have been contacted and in the event that 

no one is immediately available and there is uncertainty about the rule, then play should continue 

until a ruling is made.  Not maybe in this case, but in another round, it could be possible to apply a 

rule and adjust the score if necessary after the round has been completed and before the card is 

signed, a timely reminder not to sign your card as soon as it comes off the printer! 

Members should carry a Rules of Golf book in their bag at all times to help prevent a repeat of this 

occurrence.  Indeed, with the rule changes and new rules coming into force on Jan 1st 2019, every 

member will be issued with a new Rules of Golf book and a leaflet explaining some of the more 

radical changes, may I suggest that you put the book and leaflet straight into your golf bag, after 

reading them of course! 

In no way is Brenton St Clair accused of trying to gain an unfair advantage, he made a mistake that 

he is regretful of. Both Brenton and Raja should have checked the rule correctly or seek advice from 

an official, and thus avoid this unfortunate occurrence. 


